top of page

WinterDream: Character Interview


Portrait Drawn by Aislinn Honeycutt

Introduce yourself. What is your name? Where are you from?

Pleasure to meet you. Clara and the subjects of WinterDream call me “Nutcracker,” so I suppose you could call me that if you prefer. Others keep to the traditional royal titles, but I’ve never been a man--or rather, toy for those. I come from the world of WinterDream. And within that world, there is the Sugarland Forest, Floral Fallal, and the Isle of Ice. I live in the capital; the palace of WinterDream.


How excited are you about the release of your story?

Elated, of course. I’m quite proud of Clara for having the chance to tell her story in “WinterDream,” and I of course, am honored to be mentioned and included.


What is your favorite part of the holidays?

As WinterDream does not necessarily celebrate the holidays - for each day is almost like a holiday of itself, I’m not quite sure. Clara has told me of the beautiful Christmas trees and the delightful foods she’s had at her father’s home. I suppose if I had to choose from something that I personally know well - it would be the snow. I like to watch the snow falling from the sky - even more so at night. Everything is calm and peaceful; the world feels perfect. Even if only for a moment.


What is your favorite Christmas cookie?

Mother Ginger does make the best Ginger Snaps of the Kingdom. But I do have a sweet tooth for her Sugarland Cookies. I prefer them even more when they’re shaped as trees and snowflakes and decorated with different shades of icing.


Without giving away any spoilers, what is one thing you’re excited for readers to read about?

I’m excited for them to read about Clara. Or perhaps, Clara and I together. How we came to become good friends, and the dangers and excitement we faced together. And I do hope they enjoy several of my sword fights! I suppose you’ll have to read to know who with!


Bonus Question: If you could have one thing for Christmas, what would it be?

A new jacket would do nicely for this Nutcracker. Perhaps a touch-up of paint too. And I’d certainly prefer if my jaw could stay in place, just once.

 

Character Interview: Clara.

Did you miss my review? You can find it here.


Catch more 25 Days of WinterDream with the author, Chantal Gadoury. Join in on the fun as we count own the days until the release of this new Nutcracker retelling, hitting shelves on November 27! Interested in a pre-order? You can do that now by visiting The Parliament House.


Photo Credit: Aislinn Honeycutt

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page